In the spotlight: High-Performing Organisations

Audit 4.0, Part 2, High-Performing Auditors


In the wake of digital transformation there’s been a huge explosion in demand for cost-efficiency, greater security and transparency, and fact-based decision-making. This is forcing companies to realign their financial function, and revolutionising auditing – both of which are now expected to make a better-quality and more useful contribution. CFOs and auditors are morphing from backward-looking guardians of quality to data agents.


René Rausenberger

René Rausenberger

Partner, Head of Technology-driven Audit, PwC Switzerland

The best of teamwork and technology

Digitalisation is a bit like the invention of the wheel, which took people into a whole new dimension of space, time and speed, and revolutionised the concept of mobility. We used to get around on foot or on horseback. Now we’re travelling at the speed of cars, trains and planes, all over the globe. Similarly, auditors used to be experts who decided whether financial statements were correct and complete, mostly on the basis of samples. Now that figures and transactions are digitised, connected and automated, a large part of the resource-intensive manual work is no longer required. The volume of data that can be verified at the click of a mouse has got infinitely larger and more informative. We believe it’s now crucial for the financial function and the auditor to be aligned and coordinated.

Moving with the wheel of time

The wheels of a company’s internal financial function and the external audit have to run in parallel (see also Audit 4.0, Part 1, Finance functions and processes). Driven by the need for cost-efficiency, security, transparency and fact-based decision-making, companies are making themselves part of digital information ecosystems where they’re connected with customers, suppliers, authorities, banks and financial markets, all sharing data and information rapidly on an automated basis. This is leading to an explosion in data volumes and forcing participants to adapt their processes, controls, structures and corporate governance systems accordingly – the only way of generating, analysing and making proper use of the necessary data (see Figure 1).

Figure 1: Information ecosystems are changing data behaviour within companies – and the raw material available to auditors

The result is significant changes both in the audit and within organisations. They include:

  • the introduction of group-wide, standardised enterprise resource planning (ERP) systems such as SAP Hana

  • automation such as robotic process automation (RPA) and the use of machine learning and artificial intelligence (AI)

  • the introduction and expansion of shared service centres (SSCs).

The potential for auditors depends on the available data, IT landscapes and applications at the company they’re auditing. In an SAP environment, a great deal is possible in terms of the technological progress enabled by digitalisation. Even heterogeneous and less widespread ERP applications allow the benefits of digitalisation to be harnessed, although in these cases more effort is involved.

Today: the digital audit

We are currently working with digital toolboxes, so-called algorithm suites, with tools working on four levels:

1. Processes: Algorithms visualise business processes such as order to cash, purchase to pay, inventories or staff levels in the form of flow charts that make things like deviations from the template, duplication and repetition visible. This reveals the potential of more thoroughgoing automation and standardisation to boost process efficiency.

2. Controls: With the help of algorithms it’s possible to verify, on an automated basis, the effectiveness of the control design and the controls themselves and identify ways of optimising the system of internal controls. This helps reveal the potential of automation and standardisation in terms of enhancing risk management.

3. Transactions: These days auditors have access to a comprehensive portfolio of algorithms designed and programmed according to risk-relevant rules (hypotheses). Auditors analyse data to try and identify anomalies in the processing of transactions and entries, for example in sales or buying, and calculate financial indicators. Up to 100 per cent of the population of audit areas can be checked in different dimensions.

4. Workflow management: Workflow and process management tools provide support when it comes to communicating with clients and within group-wide audits. This digital networking on shared work platforms creates transparency and facilitates short response times, effective project management and the efficient handling of work documentation.

Figure 2: The latest digital technologies are creating new advantages
icon
Cooperation and transparency
Synchronised cooperation and transparency
icon
Strengthening of risk management
Control design, automation, benchmarking and more comfort due to a digital audit
icon
Insights
Efficiency of processes and control execution, and through benchmarking
icon
Pioneer of the financial transformation
(SSC, ERP, RPA)

Digital audits have numerous benefits (Figure 2) and enhance the value contributed by the auditor (Figure 3). The goal has to be to use digital audit tools in such a way that in addition to meeting their statutory obligations, auditors can pave the way for transforming the financial function into a driver of business performance.

Tomorrow: audits of robotic process automation (RPA)

RPA has a huge and easily exploitable potential in terms of the financial function. RPA takes care of recurring business, computing and administrative processes on a fully automated basis without having to modify existing IT structures. RPA can be set up for a fairly modest investment, and is likely to be audit-relevant as early as 2018.

A prerequisite for RPA is a systematically monitored governance and control environment. Audits will concentrate on the system of internal controls along the relevant risk categories, checking to see whether the governance, control system and the way controls are carried out address risk appropriately.

We are currently piloting this technology, also for internal use. RPA can automate manual steps in the documentation chain between local subsidiaries and local auditors, all the way to the group auditor and its central documentation duties. This makes administrative and less productive processes more efficient.

The day after tomorrow: the high-performing audit

In the near future, companies’ transactions, from electronic orders to payment, will be processed in a closed IT environment. Everything will be executed on the basis of data and logged accordingly. This will mean the audit will be done with automated software in real time, in other words on a continuous basis. The auditor will accompany this automated transaction processing.

In essence, artificial intelligence is a chain of algorithms used by software to process information, similar to the way human intelligence processes information. Machine learning refers to the artificial, computer-based creation of knowledge on the basis of the machine’s experience. It recognises patterns and regularities in the data fed in, becoming more and more intelligent in the process, and able to assign new data to familiar regularities. From the audit point of view this is set to significantly improve the identification of anomalies and enable trends and tendencies (e.g. in impairment testing or project evaluation) to be simulated. Auditors will be able to compare information with the client’s financial and other documentation and get an even better understanding of the risks.

Benchmarking is already used on a selective basis as part of the audit of many companies. Digitalisation will make this kind of comparison more systematic and all-encompassing. Auditors will be able to compare and evaluate data on their clients’ processes, controls, financial and business indicators efficiently and comprehensively – thus becoming data agents or knowledge carriers whose experience and expertise is enriched with the addition of broad, data-based knowledge, to the benefit of the entities they audit.

It is still not clear precisely what the financial reporting of the future will look like. For the time being the debate will revolve around the balance sheet, profit and loss and cash flow statements, and other classic financial indicators. Further into the future, new indicators such as customer satisfaction, inventory levels and payment patterns will become relevant. With volumes of data burgeoning, all stakeholders have a broader selection of information to choose from. The scope of the audit, the granularity of audit certainty and the periodicity of the audit will all have to be redefined. It’s clear that the audit requirement will have to be adapted and probably extended.

Figure 3: The digital auditor provides companies with more know-how and less manual work
Insight & Benchmarking Compliance & Control Transactional Auditor in the future Insights & Benchmarking Compliance & Control Transactional Auditor in the past
Auditor in the future Auditor in the past Transactional Compliance & Control Insights & Benchmarking

It pays to be far-sighted

What’s needed in the current torrent of data and information is transparency, security and fact-based decision-making. We are convinced that the recipients of financial and business information want more and more reliable, audited information. They need a high-quality, error-free basis for making decisions. Auditors have to focus on the changing needs of their clients and adapt their approach accordingly.

Audit standards also have to be given a rethink. The current standards originate from a pre-digital age. While the International Standards on Auditing (ISA) don’t prohibit the use of data analytics per se, the existing standards don’t exactly encourage it either. This means auditors are torn between the market’s call for digital audits and conventional audits based on sampling. The International Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (IAASB) is currently evaluating whether the ISA still meet the needs of stakeholders. Here, too, fundamental change is afoot.

The development we’ve outlined will require substantial investment in people and digital tools. Digitalisation is raising both hopes and fears among employees. It’s up to leaders to support and guide them on this digital journey with training, project responsibility, debate on the principles, clear goals and open dialogue. This is the only way of unleashing the innovatory potential of a motivated audit team.

High performance thanks to close attention

It’s our conviction that the financial function and the auditors will have to make much of this digital journey hand in hand. There are commonalities and dependencies. Auditors must have a detailed understanding of the financial function’s goals and priorities to apply their approach and the right tools from their digital toolbox. An audit team of experts in digital, systems and process assurance and auditors will thus help pave the way for the digital transformation of the finance function. Only by taking the reins of digital transformation actively and courageously will it be possible to harness the potential that exists for the financial function and the audit to achieve an outstanding performance.

We’re at your service!

René Rausenberger

René Rausenberger

Partner, Head of Technology-driven Audit, PwC Switzerland

+41 58 792 22 66

Im Fokus: High Performing Organisations

Audit 4.0, Part 2, High Performing Auditors


Im Zug der Digitalisierung explodiert die Nachfrage nach Kosteneffizienz, mehr Sicherheit, mehr Transparenz und faktenbasierten Entscheidungen. Das richtet die Finanzfunktionen von Unternehmen neu aus und revolutioniert die Wirtschaftsprüfung. Beide müssen einen grösseren qualitativen und nutzbringenden Beitrag leisten. CFO und Prüfer entwickeln sich von vergangenheitsorientierten Qualitätsgaranten zu Datenagenten.


René Rausenberger

René Rausenberger

Partner, Head of Technology-driven Audit, PwC Schweiz

Das Beste aus Teamwork und Technologie

Die Digitalisierung lässt sich mit der Erfindung des Rads vergleichen. Dieses hat den Menschen in eine völlig neue Dimension von Raum, Zeit und Geschwindigkeit geführt und den Begriff Mobilität revolutioniert. Ist der Mensch früher zu Fuss oder mit einer Pferdestärke ans Ziel gelangt, tut er es heute im Tempo von Auto, Bahn oder Flugzeug – rund um den Globus. Analog dazu hat der Prüfer als Fachexperte bisher über Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der Jahresrechnung befunden, meist auf der Basis von Stichproben. Mit der Digitalisierung, Vernetzung und Automatisierung von quantitativen Werten und Transaktionen entfällt ein grosser Teil der ressourcenraubenden Handarbeit. Die Menge der auf Knopfdruck verifizierbaren Daten wird um ein x-Faches umfassender und aussagekräftiger. Ein abgestimmtes und koordiniertes Vorgehen der Finanzfunktion und der Revisionsstelle ist in unseren Augen unabdingbar.

Am Rad der Zeit gedreht

Die Räder der firmeninternen Finanzfunktion und externen Prüfung laufen also parallel (siehe Audit 4.0, Part 1, Finanzfunktionen und -prozesse). Die Treiber Kosteneffizienz, Sicherheit, Transparenz und faktenbasierte Entscheidungen führen die Unternehmen in digitale Informationsökosysteme, in denen sie sich mit Kunden, Lieferanten, Behörden, Banken sowie Finanzmärkten vernetzen. Alle machen sich gegenseitig Daten und Informationen schnell und automatisiert zugänglich. Das lässt die Datenmengen explodieren und zwingt die Teilnehmer, ihre Prozesse, Kontrollen, Strukturen und Corporate-Governance-Systeme anzupassen. Denn nur so können sie die nötigen Daten generieren, analysieren und nutzbar machen (Abbildung 1).

Abbildung 1: Informationsökosysteme verändern das Datenverhalten der Unternehmen – und die Rohstoffreserven des Prüfers

Die Folge sind wesentliche Veränderungen sowohl in der Prüfung als auch in den Unternehmen. Dazu gehören:

  • Einführung von gruppenweiten, standardisierten Enterprise-Resource-Planning-(ERP-)Systemen wie SAP Hana

  • Automatisierung wie Robotic Process Automation (RPA) oder der Einsatz von Machine Learning und künstlicher Intelligenz (Artificial Intelligence, AI)

  • Einführung und Ausbau von Shared Service Centers (SSC)

Das Potenzial für die Prüfung hängt von den verfügbaren Daten, IT-Landschaften und Applikationen des geprüften Unternehmens ab. In einem SAP-Umfeld ist heute bereits sehr vieles möglich, was die Digitalisierung an technologischem Fortschritt bietet. Auch bei heterogeneren und weniger verbreiteten ERP-Applikationen lassen sich die Vorteile der Digitalisierung freilegen, allerdings mit grösserem Aufwand.

Heute: die digitale Prüfung

Aktuell arbeiten wir mit digitalen Toolboxen, sogenannten «Algorithm Suites», oder salopp ausgedrückt mit einer digitalen Werkzeugkiste. Unsere Werkzeuge wirken auf vier Ebenen:

1. Prozesse: Algorithmen visualisieren die Geschäftsprozesse wie Order to Cash, Purchase to Pay, Lager- oder Personalbestände in Form von Flowcharts. So werden z.B. Abweichungen vom Template, Doppelspurigkeiten und Wiederholungen sichtbar. Damit kann das Potenzial von weitergehender Automatisierung und Standardisierung zur Steigerung der Prozesseffizienz aufgezeigt werden.

2. Kontrollen: Mithilfe von Algorithmen lassen sich die Wirksamkeit des Kontrolldesigns und die Kontrollen selbst automatisiert verifizieren und IKS-Optimierungen identifizieren. Damit lässt sich das Potenzial der Automatisierung und Standardisierung für die Steigerung des Risikomanagements aufzeigen.

3. Transaktionen: Dem Prüfer steht heute ein umfassendes Algorithmenportfolio zur Verfügung, das nach risikorelevanten Regeln (Hypothesen) entworfen und programmiert ist. Durch Datenanalysen versucht er, Anomalien in der Transaktionsverarbeitung und Verbuchung – etwa beim Verkauf oder Einkauf – zu identifizieren und finanzielle Kennzahlen zu errechnen. Dabei werden bis zu 100% der Population von Prüfgebieten in unterschiedlichen Dimensionen geprüft.

4. Workflow-Management: Workflow- und Prozess-Management-Tools unterstützen die Kommunikation innerhalb gruppenweiter Prüfungen und mit Kunden. Diese digitale Vernetzung auf gemeinsamen Arbeitsplattformen schafft Transparenz, schnelle Reaktionszeiten, ein wirksames Projektmanagement und die effiziente Erledigung der Arbeitsdokumentation.

Abbildung 2: Neue digitale Technologien schaffen neuartige Vorteile
icon
Zusammenarbeit und Transparenz
Synchronisierte Zusammenarbeit und Transparenz
icon
Stärkung Risikomanagement
Kontrolldesign, Automatisierung, Benchmarking und mehr Sicherheit aus der Prüfung
icon
Einblicke
Effizienz von Prozessen und Kontrollausführung sowie durch Benchmarking
icon
Wegbereiter der Finanztransformation
(SSC, ERP, RPA)

Digitale Prüfungen bringen zahlreiche Vorteile (Abbildung 2) und steigern den wertschöpfenden Beitrag der Wirtschaftsprüfung (Abbildung 3). Ziel muss es sein, den Einsatz der digitalen Prüfungstools so zu gestalten, dass der Prüfer, neben der Erfüllung der gesetzlichen Vorschriften, Wegbereiter zur Transformation der Finanzfunktion hin zum Business Performance Driver ist.

Morgen: Prüfung von Robotic Process Automation (RPA)

Ein grosses und rasch ausschöpfbares Potenzial für die Finanzfunktion liegt in der RPA. Diese wickelt wiederkehrende Geschäfts-, Rechen- und Verwaltungsprozesse vollautomatisiert ab, ohne Veränderungen an bestehenden IT-Strukturen vorzunehmen. Sie lässt sich mit überschaubarer Investition realisieren und wird voraussichtlich bereits 2018 prüfungsrelevant.

RPA bedingt ein systematisch kontrolliertes Governance- und Kontrollumfeld. Die Prüfung wird sich auf das interne Kontrollsystem entlang der relevanten Risikokategorien konzentrieren und prüfen, ob Governance, IKS und die Kontrollausführung die Risiken angemessen berücksichtigen.

Zurzeit prüfen wir im Rahmen von Pilotprojekten diese Technik auch für den internen Einsatz. RPA kann manuelle Dokumentationsschritte in der Dokumentationskette zwischen lokalen Tochtergesellschaften, lokalen Prüfern und Gruppenprüfern und dessen zentrale Dokumentationspflichten automatisieren. Dadurch werden administrative und wenig nutzbringende Abläufe effizienter.

Übermorgen: die High-Performing-Prüfung

In naher Zukunft werden Transaktionen von Unternehmen in einem geschlossenen IT-Umfeld verarbeitet, von der elektronischen Bestellung bis zur Bezahlung. Sämtliche Abwicklungen sind datenbasiert und protokolliert. Demnach wird auch die Prüfung mit automatisierter Prüfsoftware erfolgen – in Echtzeit, also kontinuierlich. Der Prüfer wird mit der automatisierten Transaktionsverarbeitung mitgehen.

Die künstliche Intelligenz ist im Wesentlichen eine Kette von Algorithmen, mit denen eine Software Informationen ähnlich dem menschlichen Urteilsvermögen verarbeitet. Machine Learning bezeichnet das künstliche, computerbasierte Schaffen von Wissen aus eigener Erfahrung. Es erkennt aus den eingespeisten Daten Gesetzmässigkeiten, wird dabei immer intelligenter und kann neue Daten in erkannte Gesetzmässigkeiten einordnen. Für die Wirtschaftsprüfung ist zu erwarten, dass dadurch die Identifikation von Anomalien wesentlich verbessert und Tendenzen (z.B. Werthaltigkeitsprüfung, Projektbeurteilung) simuliert werden können. Der Prüfer kann die Informationen mit den Finanz- und sonstigen Unterlagen seines Kunden vergleichen und Risiken noch besser verstehen.

Benchmarking gehört punktuell bei zahlreichen Unternehmen schon zur Prüfung. Die Digitalisierung macht diesen Vergleich systematischer und umfangreicher. Der Prüfer wird Daten zu Prozessen, Kontrollen, finanziellen und unternehmerischen Kennzahlen von seinen Kunden in effizienter und umfassender Art und Weise vergleichen und auswerten können. Damit wird er zum Datenagenten – also Wissensträger – und erweitert seine Erfahrung als Fachexperte um ein breites, datenbasiertes Wissen – zum Vorteil der geprüften Unternehmen.

Die finanzielle Berichterstattung der Zukunft ist noch nicht definiert. Heute und morgen stehen Bilanz, Erfolgsrechnung, Mittelflussrechnung und andere klassische Finanzkennzahlen zur Debatte. Übermorgen werden neue Kenngrössen wie Kundenzufriedenheit, Lagerbestände oder Zahlungsgewohnheiten relevant. Mit dem fortschreitenden Datenvolumen wächst die Auswahl der Informationen für alle Interessengruppen. Der Umfang der Prüfung, die Granularität der Prüfsicherheit und die Periodizität der Prüfung müssen neu definiert werden. Es liegt auf der Hand, dass sich der Prüfbedarf anpassen und wahrscheinlich ausweiten wird.

Abbildung 3: Der digitale Auditor liefert dem Unternehmen mehr Know-how und weniger Handarbeit
Einblick & Benchmarking Compliance & Kontrolle Transaktional Prüfer in der Zukunft Einblick & Benchmarking Compliance & Kontrolle Transaktional Prüfer in der Vergangenheit
Prüfer in der Zukunft Prüfer in der Vergangenheit Transaktional Compliance & Kontrolle Einblick & Benchmarking

360° Weitsicht empfohlen

Die heutige Daten- und Informationsflut verlangt Transparenz, Sicherheit und faktenbasierte Entscheidungen. Wir sind überzeugt, dass die Empfänger von finanziellen und wirtschaftlichen Informationen immer mehr vertrauensvolle und geprüfte Informationen wünschen. Die Entscheidungsgrundlagen müssen erstklassig und fehlerfrei sein. Der Prüfer fokussiert sich auf die wandelnden Bedürfnisse der Kunden und passt seine Vorgehensweise entsprechend an.

Ebenfalls zu überdenken sind die Prüfungsstandards. Die heute gültigen Standards stammen aus einer prädigitalen Zeit. Die International Standards on Auditing (ISA) verbieten den Einsatz von Datenanalysen nicht per se, aber die bestehenden Standards fördern ihn auch nicht. Dadurch steht der Prüfer im Spannungsfeld zwischen dem Ruf des Marktes nach digitalen Prüfungen und herkömmlichen Stichprobenprüfungen. Das International Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (IAASB) evaluiert zurzeit, ob die ISA weiterhin die Bedürfnisse der Stakeholder erfüllen. Auch hier stehen fundamentale Veränderungen an.

Die beschriebene Entwicklung erfordert substanzielle Investitionen in Mitarbeiter und digitale Hilfsmittel. Die Digitalisierung lässt bei den Mitarbeitern Hoffnungen und Befürchtungen entstehen. Es liegt in der Verantwortung der Führungskräfte, sie auf dieser digitalen Reise zu begleiten – mit Ausbildung, Projektverantwortung, Grundsatzdiskussionen, klaren Zielen und einem offenen Dialog. Denn nur so lässt sich das Innovationspotenzial eines motivierten Prüfungsteams freisetzen.

High Performance dank High Attention

Wir sind überzeugt, dass die digitale Reise von Finanzfunktion und Wirtschaftsprüfung in vielen Teilen parallel und gemeinsam erfolgen muss. Denn es bestehen Gemeinsamkeiten und Abhängigkeiten. Der Prüfer muss das Ziel und die Prioritäten der Finanzfunktion detailliert verstehen, um sein Prüfungsvorgehen und die richtigen Werkzeuge aus seinem digitalen Werkzeugkasten einzusetzen. Damit wird das Prüfteam aus digitalen Experten, Prozess- und System- sowie Wirtschaftsprüfern zum Wegbereiter für die digitale Transformation der Finanzfunktion. Nur wer in der Digitalisierung das Steuer aktiv und mutig in die Hand nimmt, kann das Potenzial für die Finanzfunktion und die Wirtschaftsprüfung zugunsten einer überdurchschnittlichen Performance nachhaltig ausschöpfen.

Wir sind für Sie da!

René Rausenberger

René Rausenberger

Partner, Head of Technology-driven Audit, PwC Schweiz

+41 58 792 22 66