Disclose

In the spotlight: Corporate reporting

Issue 1, 2016

Modern corporate reporting involves much more than stating financial key figures.


Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Leader Assurance Switzerland

A new year, a new issue of Disclose: two reasons to celebrate! The latest edition of our web magazine focuses on corporate reporting – a highly relevant topic that affects you on a daily basis.

In the last few decades the legal and regulatory requirements governing corporate reporting have tightened steadily, often in response to calls for transparency. Investors want more clarity on the security and development of their investments, analysts expect indications of whether corporate data is to be trusted, members of the public seek assurance that a company is taking its corporate responsibilities seriously, and governments are looking for insights into the tax relevance of customer data. It is no surprise that corporate reporting is a constant concern that ranks high on the agenda of anyone like yourself who has to make decisions and take responsibility for an organisation.

The sheer size of the latest edition of Disclose is an indication of the enormous spectrum covered by corporate reporting. These days the scope of reporting extends to providing a wealth of information on the non-financial aspects of value creation, including sustainability, corporate culture and philosophy, the ability to take an integrated approach and engage in dialogue, attitude to risk, and an assessment of future developments. The different reports and reporting processes are often intertwined, making it difficult to draw distinctions. What they all have in common is that implemented properly and intelligently they can help you manage your organisation with more far-sightedness and address your corporate responsibilities effectively for the long term.

The latest edition of Disclose is designed to give you an overview and bring you up to speed on the latest developments. We look at the hard and soft factors involved in corporate reporting, the different forms of reporting that exist, what they are expected to contain, and how you can harness all this to add value. For the first time in years we are delighted to present a guest author. We would like to thank Professor Thomas Berndt at the Institute of Public Finance, Fiscal Law, and Law and Economics at the University of St. Gallen for providing the opening article in this issue of Disclose.

I wish you fascinating reading and plenty of insights for the new year.

Alex Astolfi

We’re at your service!

Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Leader Assurance Switzerland

+41 58 792 81 95

Disclose

Gros plan sur le reporting d'entreprise

Édition 1, 2016

Le reporting d'entreprise moderne va bien au-delà des indicateurs financiers.


Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Responsable Audit Suisse

Nouvelle année, nouveau Disclose – deux bonnes raisons de vous souhaiter la bienvenue ! Le grand thème de ce nouveau numéro de Disclose est le reporting d'entreprise. Nous l'avons choisi pour une bonne raison : c'est un sujet qui vous concerne, tout comme nous, au quotidien.

Ces dernières décennies, les exigences juridiques et réglementaires en matière de reporting d'entreprise n'ont cessé d'augmenter, souvent en lien avec la notion de transparence. Les investisseurs exigent de la clarté sur la sécurité et l'évolution de leurs investissements ; les analystes sur la véracité des données des entreprises ; le public sur la responsabilité de celles-ci et, enfin, les États sur la pertinence fiscale des données des clients. Le reporting d'entreprise figure donc parmi les sujets incontournables de votre agenda de responsable et décideur.

Il réunit un très grand nombre d'aspects, comme en témoigne le volume de ce Disclose. Le reporting d'entreprise comporte de nombreux paramètres extrafinanciers de la création de valeur, tels le développement durable, la culture d'entreprise, la conception de soi, la pensée intégrée, l'ouverture au dialogue, le comportement face au risque et l'évaluation des développements futurs. Les différents rapports et processus de reporting se recoupent souvent et ne peuvent pas toujours être séparés distinctement. Pourtant, ils ont tous un point commun : mis en œuvre judicieusement, ils contribuent à une gestion clairvoyante et une responsabilité durable de l'entreprise.

Par ce numéro de Disclose, nous souhaitons vous informer des dernières évolutions et vous donner une vue d'ensemble. Nous vous présentons les facteurs dits « durs » et « mous » du reporting d'entreprise, les différentes formes de rapports qui existent et ce qu'elles doivent contenir, et vous montrons également comment les utiliser en tant que valeur ajoutée. Pour la première fois depuis des années, nous avons le plaisir de vous présenter un auteur extérieur. Un grand merci au professeur Thomas Berndt de l'Institut des sciences financières, du droit financier et Law and Economics de l'Université de Saint-Gall pour son article d'ouverture.

Je vous souhaite une lecture enrichissante et un bon départ dans la nouvelle année.

Bien à vous, Alex Astolfi

Nous sommes à votre disposition!

Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Responsable Audit Suisse

+41 58 792 81 95