Disclose

In the spotlight: occupational pensions

Issue 2, 2016

Occupational pensions will impact the future of all generations.


Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Leader Assurance Switzerland

Thanks for clicking into Disclose! The theme of this issue is pensions. It’s a hot topic that has always stirred controversy, so I think you’ll find plenty of interesting and though-provoking reading.

Pensions are all about making certain sacrifices now so that you’re well looked-after later on. In this issue of Disclose we’ll be looking at the burden borne by the second pillar, and how this is shared and funded by the various generations. We’ll be discussing the implications of the system for the working population, employers and pensioners – the roles each of these groups currently play, and the roles they might play in the future.

Switzerland’s three-pillar system helps ensure social security and good industrial relations while allowing flexibility for people to meet their own individual needs. Those are all good reasons for taking care of the system. But occupational pensions face enormous challenges: people are living longer, interest rates are at rock-bottom, and funding pension benefits in the long term is turning out to be a herculean task. These are challenges pension funds and the social partners involved have to confront. They have to take care of the system and take responsibility for how it turns out.

One of the keys to funding occupational pensions is the conversion rate – or rather the ‘right’ conversion rate. We ask whether there’s even any such thing as the ‘right’ rate, and what this definition means for companies and the benefits they promise their employees. We also present PwC’s dynamic pension model, an entrepreneurially courageous solution designed to bring real-world circumstances, and the interests of pensioners and active members into alignment.

As always, Disclose also contains relevant information on accounting and financial reporting. In this issue we show how the same facts may be presented differently in the accounts depending on the financial reporting standard adopted. For example we look at the implications of measures to remedy situations where a pension fund’s ability to weather risk is impaired – not just for the insured persons, but for the financial statements of the company affiliated to the fund. We also explain why 1e pension plans are an attractive option for both employees and employers.

This issue of Disclose looks at pensions from many different angles. That’s important, because whether you’re responsible for a pension fund or otherwise involved, you have to keep your eyes open and look to the future.

Alex Astolfi

We’re at your service!

Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Leader Assurance Switzerland

+41 58 792 81 95

Disclose

Im Fokus: berufliche Vorsorge

Ausgabe 2, 2016

Die berufliche Vorsorge beeinflusst die Zukunft sämtlicher Generationen.


Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Leiter Wirtschaftsprüfung Schweiz

Schön, dass Sie bei Disclose reingeklickt haben. Ich begrüsse Sie herzlich zu einer besonders kurzweiligen Lektüre. In dieser 24. Ausgabe widmen wir uns einem Thema mit Dauerbrisanz: der beruflichen Vorsorge.

Zwei Schlüsselgedanken stecken im Begriff Vorsorge: vorausschauen und Sorge tragen. Im aktuellen Disclose ergründen wir, welche Last die zweite Säule trägt, wie diese auf die Generationen verteilt ist und finanziert wird. Dabei legen wir dar, welche Konsequenzen das System für die arbeitende Bevölkerung, Unternehmen und Rentner hat und welche Rolle den Akteuren dabei zukommt – oder zukommen wird.

Das Dreisäulenprinzip der Schweiz gewährt soziale Sicherheit, stärkt den Arbeitsfrieden und lässt Spielraum für individuelle Bedürfnisse. Gute Gründe, dem System Sorge zu tragen. Allerdings steht die berufliche Vorsorge vor enormen Herausforderungen: Die Menschen werden immer älter, die Zinsen verharren in Tieflage, und die langfristige Finanzierung der Rentenleistungen entpuppt sich als Herkulesarbeit. Hier sind die Vorsorgeeinrichtungen und Sozialpartner gefragt. Sie müssen nicht nur Sorge tragen, sondern vor allem auch Verantwortung.

Eine Kerngrösse in der Finanzierungsbetrachtung der beruflichen Vorsorge ist der Umwandlungssatz. Besser: der «richtige» Umwandlungssatz. Wir fragen, ob es einen solchen überhaupt gibt und was dessen Definition für die Unternehmen und Rentenversprechen bedeutet. Zudem stellen wir Ihnen das dynamische Modell von PwC vor. Dieses bringt die Gegebenheiten der Realität und die Interessen von Rentnern und Aktiven auf einen Nenner; und zeugt von unternehmerischem Mut.

Wie immer trägt unser jüngstes Disclose auch relevante Informationen über die Rechnungslegung. Wir zeigen nämlich auf, inwiefern sich die Sachverhalte je nach angewendetem Rechnungslegungsstandard in den Büchern unterschiedlich präsentieren. So wirken sich Massnahmen gegen eine verminderte Risikofähigkeit einer Pensionskasse nicht nur auf die Versicherten, sondern auch auf den Jahresabschluss des angeschlossenen Unternehmens aus. Im Weiteren erläutern wir, warum die Vorsorgeeinrichtungen mit 1e-Pensionsplänen über ein attraktives Instrument für die Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber verfügen.

Das aktuelle Disclose eröffnet Ihnen vielfältige Perspektiven auf die berufliche Vorsorge. Denn bei diesem Thema gilt für Involvierte und Verantwortliche gleichermassen: Augen auf und nach vorn blicken!

Ihr Alex Astolfi

Wir sind für Sie da!

Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Leiter Wirtschaftsprüfung Schweiz

+41 58 792 81 95