Disclose

In the spotlight: occupational pensions

Issue 2, 2016

Occupational pensions will impact the future of all generations.


Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Leader Assurance Switzerland

Thanks for clicking into Disclose! The theme of this issue is pensions. It’s a hot topic that has always stirred controversy, so I think you’ll find plenty of interesting and though-provoking reading.

Pensions are all about making certain sacrifices now so that you’re well looked-after later on. In this issue of Disclose we’ll be looking at the burden borne by the second pillar, and how this is shared and funded by the various generations. We’ll be discussing the implications of the system for the working population, employers and pensioners – the roles each of these groups currently play, and the roles they might play in the future.

Switzerland’s three-pillar system helps ensure social security and good industrial relations while allowing flexibility for people to meet their own individual needs. Those are all good reasons for taking care of the system. But occupational pensions face enormous challenges: people are living longer, interest rates are at rock-bottom, and funding pension benefits in the long term is turning out to be a herculean task. These are challenges pension funds and the social partners involved have to confront. They have to take care of the system and take responsibility for how it turns out.

One of the keys to funding occupational pensions is the conversion rate – or rather the ‘right’ conversion rate. We ask whether there’s even any such thing as the ‘right’ rate, and what this definition means for companies and the benefits they promise their employees. We also present PwC’s dynamic pension model, an entrepreneurially courageous solution designed to bring real-world circumstances, and the interests of pensioners and active members into alignment.

As always, Disclose also contains relevant information on accounting and financial reporting. In this issue we show how the same facts may be presented differently in the accounts depending on the financial reporting standard adopted. For example we look at the implications of measures to remedy situations where a pension fund’s ability to weather risk is impaired – not just for the insured persons, but for the financial statements of the company affiliated to the fund. We also explain why 1e pension plans are an attractive option for both employees and employers.

This issue of Disclose looks at pensions from many different angles. That’s important, because whether you’re responsible for a pension fund or otherwise involved, you have to keep your eyes open and look to the future.

Alex Astolfi

We’re at your service!

Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Leader Assurance Switzerland

+41 58 792 81 95

Disclose

Gros plan sur la prévoyance professionnelle

Édition 2, 2016

La prévoyance professionnelle influence l'avenir de toutes les générations.


Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Responsable Audit Suisse

Je vous souhaite la bienvenue dans notre nouveau numéro en ligne de Disclose, dont la lecture sera, soyez-en sûr, particulièrement enrichissante. Ce 24e numéro est consacré à un sujet toujours d’actualité: la prévoyance professionnelle.

Prévoir et prendre soin: telles sont les deux idées maîtresses de la prévoyance. Dans ce Disclose, nous analysons la charge qui pèse sur le deuxième pilier, sa répartition sur les générations et son financement. Nous vous expliquons quelles sont les conséquences de ce système pour la population active, les entreprises et les retraités, et quel est le rôle actuel et futur des différents acteurs.

Le système des trois piliers de la Suisse est le garant de la sécurité sociale. Il renforce la paix sociale et laisse une certaine liberté pour répondre aux besoins individuels. Nous avons donc tout intérêt à en prendre soin. Mais la prévoyance professionnelle fait face à des défis de taille: l’espérance de vie s’allonge, les taux d’intérêt ne décollent pas et le financement à long terme des prestations de rente est une tâche titanesque. Dans ce domaine, les institutions de prévoyance et les partenaires sociaux ont un rôle à jouer. Ils doivent non seulement prendre soin des assurés, mais aussi et surtout assumer leurs responsabilités.

Le taux de conversion constitue un élément clé du financement de la prévoyance professionnelle. Ou disons plutôt: le «bon» taux de conversion. Nous nous demandons si un tel taux existe et ce que sa définition signifie pour les entreprises et les promesses de rente. En outre, nous vous présentons le modèle dynamique de PwC. Il permet de trouver un dénominateur commun entre les données de la réalité et les intérêts des retraités et des personnes actives, et dénote un certain courage de notre entreprise.

Comme toujours, ce numéro de Disclose contient également des informations importantes sur la présentation des comptes. Nous montrons notamment comment des faits peuvent être présentés différemment dans les comptes, selon la norme comptable utilisée. Ainsi, les mesures contre une aptitude au risque restreinte d’une caisse de pension se répercutent non seulement sur les assurés, mais aussi sur les états financiers de l’entreprise affiliée. De plus, nous vous expliquons pourquoi, avec les plans de pension 1e, les institutions de prévoyance disposent d’un instrument attrayant à la fois pour les salariés et les employeurs.

Ce numéro de Disclose vous ouvre de multiples perspectives sur la prévoyance professionnelle. Car dans ce domaine, un même mot d’ordre s’applique pour les personnes impliquées et les responsables: être clairvoyant et anticiper l’avenir.

Bien à vous, Alex Astolfi

Nous sommes à votre disposition!

Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Responsable Audit Suisse

+41 58 792 81 95