In the spotlight: “Who is business?” Focus on the next generation.

Issue 2, 2018


Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Member of the Management Board, Leader Assurance PwC Switzerland

“The success of the next generation is built on the foresight of the current one.”

Thank you for dipping into our magazine Disclose. This issue is devoted to a theme of great relevance for the future: the next generation.

What’s next? This isn’t just something people and organisations in crisis have to ask themselves. It’s the very question that drives innovation, growth and success in business. If you stand still, you go backwards – in other words, you fail.

So in this Disclose we look at the crucial question of what’s next at many different levels. Succession planning is one of the key tasks for any family business. But even businesses that don’t depend on a single family have to think about continuity of leadership, and by extension about their whole philosophy of leadership. I’d warmly recommend anyone in industry to read the article on the development of cobots: robots that work hand in hand with humans. We also have a fascinating article on certification that adds a whole new dimension to the old debate around pay inequality. The article describing the way forward for the finance function and audit in the 4.0 era is worth reading as well. Finally, Disclose talks to Cornelia Ritz Bossicard, president of swissVR, about the board of directors of the future.

As always, our Update articles keep you up to speed on relevant audit-related matters. This time they include an explanation of why you should check the applicability of the EU’s General Data Protection Regulation and adapt your practice as necessary. We also describe how IFRS 16 will affect financial statements produced in accordance with the Swiss Code of Obligations. Last but not least, we continue the debate on Tax Proposal 17.

I hope this issue of Disclose offers some food for thought for the future – and look forward to the next time you click your way to our online magazine.

Alex Astolfi

We’re at your service!

Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Member of the Management Board, Leader Assurance PwC Switzerland

+41 58 792 81 95

Im Fokus: «Who is business?» Next Generation im Fokus

Ausgabe 2, 2018


Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung, Leiter Wirtschaftsprüfung PwC Schweiz

«Der Erfolg der nächsten Generation beginnt mit der Weitsicht der aktuellen.»

Schön, dass Sie in unser Magazin Disclose reinschauen. Diese Ausgabe hat eine besondere Langzeitwirkung, denn wir widmen uns einem äusserst zukunftsträchtigen Thema: der Next Generation.

«Wie geht’s weiter? » Diese Frage beschäftigt nicht nur Menschen und Unternehmen in Krisensituationen. In der Wirtschaft ist sie der Antrieb von Innovation, Wachstum und Erfolg. Denn Stillstand in der Weiterentwicklung bedeutet Rückstand – also Misserfolg.

Darum stellen wir in diesem Disclose die Gretchenfrage auf ganz unterschiedlichen Ebenen. Für einen Familienbetrieb gehört die Nachfolgeplanung zu den Schlüsselaufgaben. Doch auch familienunabhängige Unternehmen müssen sich über den Fortbestand der Führung Gedanken machen und damit über ihr Führungsverständnis nachdenken. Allen Industrievertretern möchte ich den Beitrag zur Entwicklung von Cobots empfehlen. Das sind Roboter, die Hand in Hand mit dem Menschen arbeiten. Ebenso spannend ist der Blick auf die alte Debatte über Lohnungleichheit, die dank Zertifizierung eine neue Dimension erreicht. Auch die Weiterreise von Finanzfunktion und Wirtschaftsprüfer in der Ära 4.0 ist einen Leseabstecher wert. Und schliesslich spricht Cornelia Ritz Bossicard, Präsidentin von swissVR, mit dem Disclose über den Verwaltungsrat der Zukunft.

In unseren Update-Beiträgen halten wir Sie wie immer über relevante Wirtschaftsprüfungsthemen auf dem Laufenden. Aus aktuellem Anlass zeigen wir auf, warum Sie die Anwendbarkeit der EU-Datenschutzgrundverordnung prüfen und Ihre Praxis gegebenenfalls anpassen sollten. Wir erläutern, wie IFRS 16 Ihre Jahresrechnung nach OR tangiert. Zudem setzen wir die Diskussion rund um die Steuerreform 17 fort.

Ich wünsche Ihnen eine weitsichtige Lektüre – und freue mich auf Ihren nächsten Klick.

Ihr Alex Astolfi

Wir sind für Sie da!

Alex Astolfi

Alex Astolfi

Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung, Leiter Wirtschaftsprüfung PwC Schweiz

+41 58 792 81 95